screaming kid

You know how you can destroy a child’s trust in you?

Well, there are several ways to do it — legally. Simply don’t do what you promised. Or change the rules left, right and center.

Another way: take your child to get shots.

I had that unfortunate honor. Let me tell you, it’s not fun at all. Children head to the doctor’s office gruntled to actually happy and come out screaming bloody murder.

I won’t give you the gory details, but let’s just say I saw all smiles on the way in…and some mad, mad looks afterward. As soon as those needles got jabbed in, it was over. And you can see the exact moment when, on some basic level, your child feels you have violated the trust they had in you to keep them safe from harm.

If you’re paying attention, it’s a sickening feeling. Even though it’s something many of us (myself included) feel you have to do to protect your children against…well…whatever.

I think it’s time for ice cream. Besides being a tasty treat, it is also very good for rebuilding trust with your kids.

