Y-GWYNN-2-articleLarge

One hundred to nothing is pretty lopsided, no matter the context.

It’s thoroughly disappointing the 2014 All Star Game had that disparity in mentioning two of its shining lights, one dimming at the end of a career, one extinguished far too early because of tobacco.

In case you hadn’t heard, and in case you hadn’t guessed, the Fox crew wasted no opportunity highlighting the virtues and exploits of Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter. Before, during and after the game. I have an abundance of anti-Yankee venom coursing through me, but I’ll admit he has earned more accolades than just about every other player for his body if work during a largely scintillating career.

Having said that…

Tony Gwynn wasn’t mentioned.

Gwynn wasn’t voted as an All Star once in his career. Once in nearly 20 years. That should have at least gained passing mention, especially after Gwynn’s unfortunate death a few weeks ago.

There were other ways Gwynn’s contributions to the game could have been mentioned. His appearance with Ted Williams. His sense of humor. His bar wizardry, especially at a game where Yasiel Puig struck out three times (how often did Gwynn strike out twice in a game, let alone thrice?).

And his battle with cancer that ultimately killed him.

He was an All Star, for crying out loud. If you can give George Steinbrenner a moment of silence after he died, the very least Major League Baseball could have done was painting No. 19 on the ground at Target Field. And a moment of silence. Or a short video presentation. Just something. Anything.

Failing to mention Gwynn by MLB and Fox is nothing short of an epic fail by both businesses.

Now that I’m into my 19th year in media, either radio or print, I thoroughly understand there are things at every event I cover that I should have added. In most cases, though, I’m either flying solo or have just one other person nearby to fill in any gaps. Fox and MLB had waaaaaaaaay more staffers involved in their productions for such an oversight.

I would say I understand the gaffe, based on my experience in this field, but I don’t.

It’s not just that I think Jeter got too much run on the broadcast. It’s that somebody who meant as much to the game during his time didn’t get any.

OBIT_TONY_GWYNN_38238465

