Image

Every so often, you have a start to your morning that just leaves you shaking your head.

Sometimes it’s a sick child. Sometimes you step in something your pet left behind. Sometimes it’s the alarm is not scheduled properly.

Thankfully, I didn’t have any of that today. Unthankfully (I just made up a word), I think my situation was just as bad.

I’m laying in bed, my brain struggling to process that I’ve hit the snooze button for possibly the fourth or fifth time, when my wife asks whether I plan to get up any time soon. Being the clock read 1:30 a.m. and I had extra on my work plate, I told her I’d be up soon.

Somehow, I wind up staring at the clock until it read 2:30 a.m.

Yeah, I know. Weird thought patterns tend to make sense on short sleep.

Anyways, I get dressed, take the dog out and check the time on my alarm. 2:45 a.m. I’m not sure what possessed me to look at Ginny’s clock, but I did.

4:45 a.m. The later time was immediately confirmed by my cell phone.

Insert cuss word combination of your choice here.

Thankfully, I didn’t have my work day thrown totally out of whack, even though I was hoping for much greater progress (as in, getting done faster than I am). However, I’m still having trouble figuring out just how that happened when the clocks were identical when we went to bed at 10:30 p.m.

